Medical Fee Schedule Regulations:

16 VAC 30-110-10. Authority for Regulations.

Section 65.2-605 of the Code of Virginia directs the Commission to adopt regulations
establishing fee schedules for medical services. These regulations are exempt from the
Administrative Process Act pursuant to subsection A.15 of section 2.2-4006 of the Code of
Virginia.

16 VAC 30-110-20. Definitions.

The following words and terms when used in this chapter shall have the following meanings
unless the context clearly indicates otherwise:

“Commission” means the Virginia Workers’ Compensation Commission.

“Community” means one of the six medical communities as defined in subsection A of Section
65.2-605 of the Code of Virginia.

“Ground rules” means the Medical Fee Schedule Ground Rules adopted by the Commission on
June 13, 2017, as amended from time to time, incorporated herein by reference and available

at the Commission’s website at: http://www.workcomp.virginia.gov/content/virginia-medical-
fee-schedules-ground-rules

“Medical services” means any medical, surgical or hospital service required to be provided to an
injured person pursuant to Title 65.2 of the Code of Virginia, exclusive of a medical service
provided in the treatment of a traumatic injury or serious burn as those terms are defined in
subsection A of Section 65.2-605 of the Code of Virginia.

“Virginia fee schedules” means the fee schedules adopted by the Commission on June 13, 2017,
as amended from time to time, incorporated herein by reference and available at the
Commission’s website at: http://www.workcomp.virginia.gov/content/virginia-medical-fee-
schedules

16 VAC 30-110-30. Applicability of Fee Schedules and Ground Rules; Determination of
Communities.

A. The Virginia fee schedules and ground rules shall apply to all medical services rendered
on or after January 1, 2018, regardless of the date of injury.
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B. The applicable community for providers of medical services rendered in the
Commonwealth shall be determined by the zip code of the location where the services
were rendered.

C. The applicable community for providers of medical services rendered outside of the
Commonwealth shall be determined by the zip code of the principal place of business of
the employer if located in the Commonwealth or, if no such location exists, then the zip
code of the location where the Commission hearing regarding a dispute concerning the
services would be conducted.

16VAC 30-110-40. Disputes.

A. Administrative review process — Any dispute concerning the application of the Virginia
fee schedules and ground rules to a particular medical service shall be submitted to the
Commission for an administrative review and determination according to such
procedures as the Commission may adopt from time to time.

B. Judicial review — If a request for hearing is made to the Commission within 30 days after
issuance of an administrative decision pursuant to subsection A of this Section, the
dispute shall be referred to the appropriate hearing docket and adjudicated in the same
manner as change-in-condition claims, with the same rights of review and appeal as set
forth in Sections 65.2-705 and 65.2-706 of the Code of Virginia and subject to the
applicable Rules of the Commission.

C. Finality — An administrative decision of the Commission issued pursuant to subsection A
of this Section shall be final and binding 30 days after its issuance unless a request for
hearing is made pursuant to subsection B of this Section.

16 VAC 30-110-50. Periodic Review of Fee Schedules.

The Commission shall review the Virginia fee schedules and ground rules biannually and shall
make necessary adjustments as directed by subsection D of Section 65.2-605 of the Code of
Virginia.

16 VAC 30-110-60. Effective Date

These regulations shall be effective beginning January 1, 2018.



